Nappies and Toileting

Cloth Nappies

image

I’ll start my blog by talking about my cloth nappy experience! This is something that I don’t get looks like I’m crazy for doing (as I sometimes get when I say I don’t have a pram, more on that in a future post) but something that people are very curious about. I often get asked “how are you getting on with the cloth nappies?” when people see me changing my daughter. I also get comments like “that’s not what cloth nappies were like when we were babies, with all the folding and pinning!”. Questions and comments like these show me that many people think using cloth nappies is very difficult and complicated and more trouble than it’s worth. This isn’t the case at all! The answer I give when people ask me how I’m getting on with them is “great!”. I do also tell them the only slightly annoying thing is that at the moment we have to wash them every day. But this is not difficult and it won’t last forever. As Tulip gets bigger so will her stomach and she won’t need as many nappy changes a day!

I first discovered these new style cloth nappies (the ones without the folding and pinning!) in my pre-pregnancy baby research days. They looked good but it seemed a little overwhelming in that I didn’t know which ones to choose! And I didn’t know anyone who had used cloth nappies to ask about their experience.

When I was about 16 weeks pregnant my husband and I decided to go to The Baby Show in London. For those who don’t know, it happens a few times a year and has stalls from hundreds of different baby related companies. Well worth going to if you’re having a baby. Searching online is great but it’s nice to see so many different things in one place and actually get to see them in person and talk to an expert about the products. We actually learned a lot there, I’ll get into each thing in future posts but for now I’ll stick to the cloth nappies!

We saw the Tots Bots stand and they looked very welcoming and friendly so we went over to talk to them. The woman we spoke to owned a shop selling baby things and had been asked by Tots Bots to come to The Baby Show to represent them. She had used the nappies on her own children and highly recommended them. After scanning around the baby show for other cloth nappies, we decided Tots Bots were for us! We ordered the birth to potty starter kit. On the website it is £299.99, we got a bit of a discount for being at The Baby Show (another reason it’s worth going – discounts!). That may sound a lot for nappies but when you compare it over buying disposables over that period of time they are much cheaper, even with washing costs! We even got £50 from our local council for using cloth nappies, this is for the money we are saving on landfill. All we had to do was send in our receipt for the nappies and a copy of our daughter’s birth certificate. I’m not sure if all councils do this but it’s definitely worth finding out!

I saw the picture below on the Tots Bots facebook page recently which they had shared from the Modern Natural Baby facebook page. It’s a great visual representation of disposable versus reusable cloth nappies. It’s shown in $$$ but you get the idea!
image

Anyway, in the birth to potty kit, you get (I’ve taken this list from the Tots Bots website):
*15 x Rainbow Easyfit nappies with Hook and Loop
*5 x Natural Bamboozle Stretch (size 2) nappies
*1 x size 1 wrap (white)1 x size 2 wrap (white)
*1 x 16L bucket
*2 x laundry mesh
*1 x wet nappy bag (white)
*20 x reusable fleece liners
*1 x roll of paper liners
*1 x 750g tub of Potion nappy wash

The only thing you have to keep buying is the paper liners (which catch most of the poo and then you just flush it down the loo!) and laundry detergent but these cost very little compared to constantly buying disposable nappies.

The easy fit ones we use in the day and we use the Bamboozle Stretch ones with the wraps at night. These are more absorbant and keep Tulip from leaking for the six hours straight she now sleeps each night (yay!).

The way they work for birth to potty is they have poppers in the front so they are actually 3 sizes in 1! You can keep adjusting the poppers to make the nappies bigger as your child grows. When I read the small print I found that birth to potty actually meant 8-35 pounds. I did worry if I had a small baby they wouldn’t fit her at first. You can get teeny fit nappies from Tots Bots for smaller babies (less than 9 pounds) but I didn’t want to spend extra money on them and then end up with a 9 pound newborn and find I didn’t need them! We decided to just risk it and luckily our Tulip was born at 7 pounds 11 ounces so we used the easy fit nappies from the start with minimal problems. We did find the first few weeks when she was smaller we sometimes had leaks if we didn’t check the tightness of the nappies well enough, but now she’s bigger we have no such problems!

Putting them on is very easy. No harder than disposables. They are laid out the same way and have velcro for fastenings. If you can put on a disposable nappy, you can put on a Tots Bots nappy! They are bulkier than disposables but that just means you may have to move your baby up to the next clothes size sooner to fit over the nappies. And they look so cute! The other benefit is the elastic all around (waist and legs). I’d read online before Tulip was born that this meant no poo explosions out of the nappy and all over baby and clothes and sometimes you! Eight weeks in and I’ve found this to be true!

Washing them is no harder than washing a normal load of laundry. I think many people have visions of spending hours having to soak and scrub cloth nappies. The good news is this is another thing that has improved about cloth nappies! All you do is put the dirty nappies in the in the mesh bag in the nappy bucket and when it’s full, take the bag out and put the whole thing in the washing machine. You don’t even have to touch the dirty nappies again. They come out very clean and then you just hang them on the washing line or clothes airer to dry. We’ve found they dry much quicker when we put them on a spin cycle after the main wash. You can occasionally put them in the dryer if you’ve run out of nappies before the clean ones are dry. This hasn’t happened to us often as we make sure to keep an eye on when we’re running low on nappies and put a load in. Only usually happens when Tulip gets through 4 nappy changes in 2 hours or something!

I had someone ask me if I’d use disposable nappies when out. Actually they sort of assumed I would as they couldn’t see how it would work using reusables when out. It’s very easy! The birth to potty kit comes with a dirty nappy bag you can use when out. Yes you then have to carry dirty nappies around but:
1. You’re not carrying any more things than what you went out with
2. You can usually flush the majority of the poo down the toilet if you are using the flushable liners and have access to a toilet
3. I’ve had friends who use disposables tell me you sometimes have to carry dirty nappies around with you anyway if you don’t have access to a nappy bin when out!

Another question I got a few times before and after Tulip was born was “will you buy disposables ‘just in case’?”. My answer was always no. I don’t like to spend extra money ‘just in case’ (as proved by my reluctance to buy the teeny fit nappies!) especially if I really don’t think I’m going to use the ‘just in case’ purchase. If you’re the type who will often forget to put the nappies in the wash, maybe cloth isn’t the way to go for you or maybe you would want to buy some just in case disposables. It has worked out great for us though and my solution to us getting close to running out of nappies when Tulip gets through them so quickly is I’ve just ordered another five Tots Bots nappies!

I hope you’ve found this post interesting and maybe learned something about cloth nappies you didn’t know before! Please feel free to ask any questions or let me know about your cloth nappy experience! I’d also love to hear if you’ve decided to use cloth nappies as a result of reading this!

As I’ve said in the About Me section, please don’t feel I’m trying to put you down if you use disposables, I just want to get more awareness of the other options out there. I know everyone is different and different things work for different families!

❤ Mum Without Wheels 🌞

4 thoughts on “Cloth Nappies

  1. I’ve just started using cloth and find my12 week olds poo is so runny it’s not caught by flushable liners. I read mammies with EBF babies often don’t bother with liners? What did you do?

    Like

    1. I’ve started using fleece liners as my daughter was getting so bothered every time she had a slightly wet nappy she was having a ridiculous amount of nappy changes a day! The fleece liners help pull the wetness away from her skin. When she does a poo (yes they are quite runny) we just quickly rinse the liner off before putting it in the dirty bucket. They do sometimes stain a bit but come out after a few washes and no harm in using a stained liner, it’s still clean! I’ve heard if you put in the sun on washing line the stains come out well but unfortunately I live in a flat so haven’t been able to do this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

